How to celebrate a 30th Carrot birthday

on

Step One: Find a beautiful spot away from all the busy. Ideally on a weekday, for extra serenity.

Step Two: Pack up enough food for a week even though you only plan to be gone for 2 nights.

Step Three: Buy the very best (canned) beer you can find.

Step Four: Don’t forget the doggies!

Step Five: Drive, drive, drive to your beautiful spot.

Step Six: Set up the tent.

Step Seven: Set up the hammocks. Ideally over water.

Step Eight: Take the doggies for a swim.

Step Nine: Get at least 6 bundles of firewood.

Step Ten: Do nothing for a minimum of 48 hours. Eating, drinking, napping, reading, playing with pups, playing cribbage, building fires, and concocting cocktails all fall under the glorious category of doing nothing.

image image image image image image image image

Now, you may have noticed that there is one very important thing that this very special 30th birthday is missing. Can you guess it?! Do you know what it is?!

It’s cake! There is no 30th birthday cake to be found in this guide to having a very perfect birthday celebration. And that seems totally incorrect because we really like cake. But alas, I don’t know how to make cake in a campfire yet. Yet! (I hear it’s possible!). Hopefully there is a campfire cake recipe looming in your future.

But do not distress. There will be cake. I’m going to let you in on a little secret. You can’t tell anyone. Okay, you can tell whoever you want but just don’t tell my Carrot. This is all part one in the way of celebration. There is another super stealthy secret part of this particular 30th birthday. And I can only tell you this because my Carrot is far too busy farming and growing things to keep up on reading my blog.

I’M THROWING MY CARROT A SURPRISE BIRTHDAY PARTY THIS WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And boy, oh boy, will there ever be cake. There will be chocolate chocolate cake and confetti cake and probably something with blueberries and maybe like four other cakes because so many people are coming and my Carrot loves cake and I love my Carrot and why the hell not?!

Okay, that’s all. Happy Carrot 30th birthday to you all!

-Leek

P.S. Camp BLTs are so yummy. Okay, all BLTs are so yummy. But anything I can make quickly in one pan gets my vote for camp efficiency. Leaves plenty of time for post-lunch napping. Bring along 2 heirloom tomatoes, 8 slices of pre-cooked bacon, 4 pieces of extra crunchy lettuce, 4 slices of bread, 2 tablespoons of butter and a teeny tiny mason jar of mayo and I promise that you will have a very good day.